Turing Fellowships 2024 announcement

The Jean Golding Institute is pleased to announce the next University of Bristol-based researchers that have been awarded The Alan Turing Institute Fellowship.

Starting on the 1st of March, two new Bristol-based researchers will be joining the Turing network and becoming Turing fellows alongside forty-nine other fellows being announced today.

Turing fellows are researchers with proven research excellence in data science, artificial intelligence (AI) or a related field whose research will be significantly enhanced through active involvement with The Alan Turing network of partners and universities.

The aim of the Turing Fellowship scheme is to grow the data science and AI ecosystem in the UK through supporting, retaining and developing the careers of the next generation of world leading researchers, while also contributing to the Alan Turing Institute’s overarching goals.

Meet & hear from our new incoming Turing Fellows at the University of Bristol:

Dr Caitlin Robinson

“I am excited to meet other fellows working across a wide range of disciplines. I am especially interested to learn more from researchers at the Turing about issues of ethics and justice in data science and AI.” Dr Caitlin Robinson, Turing Fellow.

Dr Robinson is a quantitative human geographer and UKRI Future Leaders Fellow interested in understanding and mapping different forms of spatial inequality, especially related to energy.

Dr Genevieve Liveley

Dr Liveley is a Professor of Classics and Director of the Research Institute for Sociotechnical Cyber Security (RISCS). She is also the co-founder of FLiNT (Futures Literacy through Narrative) and a narratologist whose research interests focus upon narratives and narrative theories (both ancient and modern) and their impact on futures thinking.

Drs Robinson and Lively are both a part of new cohort of Turing Fellows that will tackle science and innovation challenges and support the Alan Turing Institute’s work in skills and public engagement. Read more about the announcement of the new cohort of fellows here.